Best office chairs for heavy people: capacity is only the first filter.
A weight rating cannot tell you whether the seat is wide enough, the front edge fits your thighs, the cylinder reaches your desk, or the warranty covers the stressed parts. Compare all of them before buying.
Quick decision strip
Start with the strongest published evidence
Leap combines the highest listed capacity here with usable-seat dimensions. Aeron Size C offers dedicated large geometry. Atlas and Resistance are lower-priced affiliate candidates, but both leave decisive seat-width evidence missing.
Manufacturer imageSteelcase Leap
Steelcase
Best documented fit
400 lb · 19.25 in seat
Official specs checked September 4, 2026
Check current price & specs
Manufacturer imageHerman Miller Aeron Size C
Herman Miller
Dedicated large size
350 lb · 18.5 in depth
Official specs checked September 4, 2026
Check current price & specs
Manufacturer imageSunaofe Atlas
Sunaofe
300-lb affiliate option
300 lb · width/depth unknown
Official specs checked September 4, 2026
Check current price & specsCapacity ceiling
Treat the exact manufacturer rating as a hard maximum—not a comfort score or a recommended target.
Usable seat fit
Measure your seated width and thigh length. Overall chair dimensions cannot replace seat dimensions.
Covered hardware
Check whether the frame, mechanism, gas lift, base, casters, and upholstery share the same warranty.
Capacity plus geometry
Five chairs, ranked by decision-ready evidence.
| Chair | Capacity | Usable width | Usable depth | Seat height | Warranty / return |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steelcase Leap | 400 lb on the current Steelcase product page and store listing | 19.25 in published seat width | 15.75–18.75 in functional seat-depth adjustment | 15.5–20.5 in for the standard work chair | Limited 12-year parts-and-labor warranty on the current Steelcase Store listing; Steelcase also describes multi-shift 24/7 coverage. The current Steelcase Store listing labels returns as free. Confirm the window, upholstery exclusions, and the exact configured order before checkout. |
| Herman Miller Aeron Size C | 350 lb in the official Aeron product sheet and current US store product detail | Usable seat width is not stated in the reviewed Size C specs; overall chair width is not a substitute | 18.5 in on the current web specs; the official product sheet lists 18.9 in | 15.8–22.8 in; Herman Miller notes the range may vary by cylinder height | Current new-chair store listings advertise a 12-year warranty; confirm coverage for the selected finish, support, and region. The current Herman Miller Store advertises returns within 30 days. Verify configured-item exclusions and preserve packaging until fit is settled. |
| Sunaofe Atlas | 300 lb manufacturer-listed | Not published; do not infer it from overall chair width or product photos | Not published; a complete usable-depth measurement must be requested | 17.7–21.3 in manufacturer-listed range | Five years under Sunaofe’s current ergonomic-chair policy, subject to exclusions and claim conditions. Eligible requests within 60 days after delivery; like-new condition, full disassembly, complete parts, and original packaging matter. Inadequate packaging can create a fee or rejection risk. |
| Sunaofe Resistance | 300 lb manufacturer-listed | Not published; the 25-inch or other overall widths are not usable seat width | Base usable depth is not published; a newer official page lists 1.6 in of slide adjustment without stating the complete range | 18.5–21.5 in on the reviewed product listing | Five years under Sunaofe’s current ergonomic-chair policy, subject to its exclusions and claim process. Eligible requests within 60 days after delivery require like-new condition, disassembly, all parts, and original packaging. Confirm the selected color and stock status. |
| Branch Ergonomic Chair Pro | 275 lb manufacturer-listed | Usable seat width is not published in the reviewed product specification block | 16.7–19.7 in adjustable range | 17–19.9 in standard; 19.3–22.9 in with the optional tall cylinder | Seven years on parts and components under the current policy. 30 days after delivery, like-new and in original packaging; the current chair return fee is $40. |
“Unknown” is intentional. WorkChoose does not convert overall width into seat width or a brand capacity into verified comfort and durability.
Product-by-product verdicts
Buy the fit you can verify—not the biggest number.
Manufacturer imagePrice, stock, policy, and specifications checked September 4, 2026; confirm the exact size, cylinder, arms, upholstery, casters, and delivery terms.
Best documented combination of capacity and adjustable fit
Steelcase Leap
Premium, configuration-dependent pricing
Capacity
400 lb on the current Steelcase product page and store listing
Usable seat width
19.25 in published seat width
Usable seat depth
15.75–18.75 in functional seat-depth adjustment
Seat height
15.5–20.5 in for the standard work chair
Base / cylinder evidence
Steelcase lists a polished-aluminum frame/base option and pneumatic seat-height adjustment. The current page does not publish a cylinder class or an independent WorkChoose load result.
Warranty
Limited 12-year parts-and-labor warranty on the current Steelcase Store listing; Steelcase also describes multi-shift 24/7 coverage.
Choose it
Choose Leap when the 19.25-inch seat, adjustable depth, broad arm-width range, and 400-lb manufacturer limit all match your measurements.
Skip it
Skip it if 19.25 inches is too narrow at your seated hip position, if you need more than 400 lb, or if the configured premium price outweighs the adjustment range.
Evidence boundary: Steelcase publishes the strongest usable-seat geometry in this group. The 400-lb rating is still a manufacturer capacity—not proof of comfort, cushion life, caster life, or durability in your use.
Manufacturer imagePrice, stock, policy, and specifications checked September 4, 2026; confirm the exact size, cylinder, arms, upholstery, casters, and delivery terms.
Best dedicated large-size geometry
Herman Miller Aeron Size C
Premium, configuration-dependent pricing
Capacity
350 lb in the official Aeron product sheet and current US store product detail
Usable seat width
Usable seat width is not stated in the reviewed Size C specs; overall chair width is not a substitute
Usable seat depth
18.5 in on the current web specs; the official product sheet lists 18.9 in
Seat height
15.8–22.8 in; Herman Miller notes the range may vary by cylinder height
Base / cylinder evidence
Size C has its own frame, tilt, and base geometry, with carpet or multi-surface caster choices. The official sheet does not provide a cylinder class or an independent fatigue result for this exact configuration.
Warranty
Current new-chair store listings advertise a 12-year warranty; confirm coverage for the selected finish, support, and region.
Choose it
Choose Size C when its fixed 18.5-inch web-spec depth, tall back, and 350-lb official limit match you better than a one-size chair.
Skip it
Skip it if you need adjustable seat depth, if the fixed front frame creates pressure, if you exceed 350 lb, or if the missing usable seat-width figure prevents a decision.
Evidence boundary: This ranking uses the conservative 350-lb official product-sheet/store figure. Herman Miller publishes separate A, B, and C geometry; do not transfer Size C conclusions to another size.
Manufacturer imagePrice, stock, policy, and specifications checked September 4, 2026; confirm the exact size, cylinder, arms, upholstery, casters, and delivery terms.
Affiliate candidate with a 300-lb published limit
Sunaofe Atlas
$449.99 without headrest / $499.99 with headrest snapshot
Capacity
300 lb manufacturer-listed
Usable seat width
Not published; do not infer it from overall chair width or product photos
Usable seat depth
Not published; a complete usable-depth measurement must be requested
Seat height
17.7–21.3 in manufacturer-listed range
Base / cylinder evidence
Sunaofe’s chair warranty names the frame, mechanism, gas lift, and base for defect coverage. The Atlas listing does not publish cylinder class, base material test data, or an independent load report.
Warranty
Five years under Sunaofe’s current ergonomic-chair policy, subject to exclusions and claim conditions.
Choose it
Choose Atlas only if 300 lb leaves suitable margin for your intended use and Sunaofe confirms the usable seat width and depth before purchase.
Skip it
Skip it when you need more than 300 lb, a published wide seat, a low seat below 17.7 inches, or verified cylinder and base specifications.
Evidence boundary: Atlas publishes capacity and seat height but omits the two seat measurements most likely to decide larger-body fit. WorkChoose will not guess them; affiliate commission does not close that evidence gap.
Manufacturer imagePrice, stock, policy, and specifications checked September 4, 2026; confirm the exact size, cylinder, arms, upholstery, casters, and delivery terms.
Lower-cost 300-lb candidate with critical size unknowns
Sunaofe Resistance
$199.99 listing snapshot
Capacity
300 lb manufacturer-listed
Usable seat width
Not published; the 25-inch or other overall widths are not usable seat width
Usable seat depth
Base usable depth is not published; a newer official page lists 1.6 in of slide adjustment without stating the complete range
Seat height
18.5–21.5 in on the reviewed product listing
Base / cylinder evidence
Sunaofe’s warranty names frame, mechanism, gas lift, and base. A brand page claims 50,000 sit cycles, but WorkChoose did not receive the protocol or independently reproduce it.
Warranty
Five years under Sunaofe’s current ergonomic-chair policy, subject to its exclusions and claim process.
Choose it
Choose Resistance only if the lower price matters, 300 lb leaves enough margin, and Sunaofe supplies a usable seat-width and full depth range that fits you.
Skip it
Skip it if the high 18.5-inch minimum, missing seat width, incomplete seat-depth range, or unverified base/cylinder detail is a stop condition.
Evidence boundary: Capacity alone cannot make Resistance a heavy-user recommendation. Its key seat dimensions remain incomplete, so it ranks below chairs with documented seating geometry.
Manufacturer imagePrice, stock, policy, and specifications checked September 4, 2026; confirm the exact size, cylinder, arms, upholstery, casters, and delivery terms.
275-lb boundary comparison—not the high-capacity pick
Branch Ergonomic Chair Pro
$499 base-configuration snapshot
Capacity
275 lb manufacturer-listed
Usable seat width
Usable seat width is not published in the reviewed product specification block
Usable seat depth
16.7–19.7 in adjustable range
Seat height
17–19.9 in standard; 19.3–22.9 in with the optional tall cylinder
Base / cylinder evidence
Branch lists commercial-grade BIFMA compliance plus standard and tall-cylinder choices, but does not publish a cylinder class or a capacity above 275 lb.
Warranty
Seven years on parts and components under the current policy.
Choose it
Choose it only when you are comfortably within 275 lb and its adjustable depth, cylinder option, and return terms fit better than the higher-capacity choices.
Skip it
Skip it if you are at or above 275 lb or need capacity margin. It is included to prevent a well-adjusted mainstream chair from being mistaken for a heavy-duty model.
Evidence boundary: The Pro has useful fit adjustment but the lowest listed capacity here. It is a boundary control, not a recommendation for buyers who need more than 275 lb.
Five-minute fit worksheet
Measure on a firm chair before opening the cart.
These are shopping measurements, not medical advice. Capacity is a ceiling; width, depth, height, arms, and your return exit still have to work together.
| Measure | Your value | Decision use |
|---|---|---|
| Body weight plus ordinary clothing | ______ lb | Stay below the exact manufacturer limit and choose your own prudent margin. |
| Seated hip width | ______ in | Compare with usable seat width—not overall chair width. |
| Usable thigh length | ______ in | Compare with usable seat depth while preserving clearance behind the knee. |
| Floor to supported seat | ______ in | Check the seat-height range with the shoes and foot support you actually use. |
| Width between armrests | ______ in | Leave room for your torso and natural arm position without forcing the shoulders inward. |
| Return exit | ______ days / $______ | Record packaging, disassembly, fee, shipping, and configured-item rules. |
Buyer questions
Short answers before you choose.
What weight capacity should I choose for an office chair?
Use the manufacturer limit as a hard ceiling, not a target. Leave practical margin for your body, clothing, ordinary movement, and the way you use the chair. WorkChoose cannot prescribe a universal margin because manufacturers do not publish comparable dynamic-load methods for every model.
Is a 400-lb office chair automatically wider or more comfortable?
No. Capacity, usable seat width, usable seat depth, seat height, arm spacing, cushion or mesh behavior, and back support are separate variables. A higher limit can still come with geometry that does not fit you.
Which chair here has the highest manufacturer-listed capacity?
Steelcase lists the standard Leap work chair at up to 400 lb. Herman Miller’s official Aeron product sheet and the reviewed US Size C store detail list 350 lb. Sunaofe lists Atlas and Resistance at 300 lb, while Branch lists Ergonomic Chair Pro at 275 lb.
How wide are the seats?
Steelcase publishes a 19.25-inch Leap seat width. The reviewed official pages do not give comparable usable-seat-width figures for Aeron Size C, Sunaofe Atlas, Sunaofe Resistance, or Branch Ergonomic Chair Pro. Overall chair width is not substituted for seat width.
Is Aeron Size C rated for 350 or 400 lb?
For this comparison, WorkChoose uses 350 lb because that is the figure in Herman Miller’s official product sheet and the reviewed current US Size C product detail. Do not rely on a broader buying-guide statement when the exact configured product detail is more conservative.
Did WorkChoose load-test or sit-test these chairs?
No. This is a manufacturer-source-backed buying guide. WorkChoose did not assemble, measure, sit-test, roll-test, or independently load-test any chair, so capacity, cycles, comfort, stability, and durability claims remain manufacturer claims.
Are the Sunaofe links affiliate links?
Yes. Eligible Atlas and Resistance purchase links use WorkChoose’s approved Awin tracking. Steelcase, Herman Miller, and Branch links are direct here. Ranking follows capacity plus usable-fit evidence, not commission.
Continue the decision
